Skip to main content

Daegu, Republic of Korea - 2012

The 12th HFSP Awardees Meeting was held in Daegu, Republic of Korea from 1 - 4 July, 2012

The scientific sessions were held at EXCO exhibition and convention centre in Daegu. All Long-Term and Cross-Disciplinary Fellows, Young Investigator and Program Grant holders and Career Development Awardees were invited.  In all there were 23 oral presentations and 93 poster presentations.  In addition to the 168 registered participants invited by HFSP, there were about 30 scientists from Korean institutes and universities.  The generous hospitality of the Korean hosts was very much appreciated by the delegates and the evening at the Hyanggyo Confucian Academy was a great success.

Plenary Lectures

HFSP Nakasone Lecture - The self-tuning neuron: homeostatic synaptic scaling in developing cortical networks
Gina Turrigiano, Brandeis University, Waltham, USA

Reprogramming the genetic code
Jason Chin, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

Rotary motors, protein dynamics and bacterial behaviour
Judith Armitage, University of Oxford, UK

Special Lecture

Lecture on Korean Science: We are living in a changing society
Kil-Choo Moon,
President of KIST, Republic of Korea


To download the 2012 Awardees meeting programme click here.