Skip to main content

HFSP awardees among the winners of the 2018 Canada Gairdner Awards

HFSPO congratulates Edward Boyden, Karl Deisseroth and Azim Surani, who are among the 2018 Canada Gairdner International Award laureates.

Edward Boyden, recipient of HFSP Research Grants in 2010 and 2016, and Karl Deisseroth, the first winner of the HFSP Nakasone Award in 2010, were rewarded by the Gairdner Foundation "for the discovery of light-gated ion channel mechanisms, and for the discovery of optogenetics, a technology that has revolutionized neuroscience."

Azim Surani, who was awarded HFSP Research Grants in 1994 and 2012, received his award "for the discovery of mammalian genomic imprinting that causes parent-of-origin specific gene expression and its consequences for development and disease."

You will find more information at


Media contacts

Guntram Bauer
Director Scientific Affairs and Communications

Rosalyn Huie